Surprise Valentine’s Dinner

Ok, I know this is late and that it’s almost March already.  What can I say?  I’ve been busy.  LOL.

So, for Valentine’s Day, the Hubby decided to surprise me with a romantic dinner out.  He wouldn’t tell me where, so it was kind of fun.  He booked a reservation at Lavendou’s Bistro in Dallas.  They had a special Valentine’s set menu.

We started off with some delicious bread and balsamic dipping sauce (so yummy!) and for appetizers, I got the salad with a warm fried crispy chunk of goat cheese.  The Hubby got a terrine of duck liver which was interesting.

For the main course, I got the chicken with mushrooms over a bed of pappardelle pasta.  The chicken breast was HUGE!  Which is probably why it was a little dry and over cooked.  It was still good though.  I ended up taken half of it home with me for lunch the next day.  The Hubby got the lamb shank with couscous, which was delicious!  Cooked slowly over a long period of time, it was falling off the bone.  Dessert was a delightful chocolate mousse with candied orange shavings served in a molded chocolate cup.

Ah, the Hubby takes such good care of me!  Not sure why he automatically associates French food with romantic, but hey, I’m not complaining!

Leave a Reply

