Season’s Eatings

Oh geez, I can’t believe I haven’t posted since September!  My only excuse is that I’ve been super busy with school and work.  Not too busy to eat though, but I’m super back logged on posts, so I’ll have to just fit those in as I can.

First up, my trip back to Maryland for Christmas.

So, I finally got a chance to check out Teaism down in Penn Quarter (Washington, DC).  My sister and the Hubby both got Buffalo Burgers.  My sister wasn’t very impressed, but the Hubby said that it had nice flavor.

I chose the Seitan Stir Fry.  It was quite yummy!  I was a little hesitant since it had large macadamia nuts in it, but they ended up adding a nice crunch.  I got the Berry Beauty Tea, which I was kind of disappointed with.  It pretty much just tasted like the Celestial Seasonings Very Berry Zinger.  The Dark Hot Chocolate with Chipotle, on the other hand, was delicious!  I choked a little since I inhaled the chipotle dust. LOL.

We tried to have lunch at Chipotle on Christmas Eve, but apparently they closed at 3pm (yeah, it was a pretty late lunch), so we ended up going next door to the Cosi’s.

I had the Pesto Chicken Melt, which was actually pretty good.  I was craving Chipotle pretty bad, but I wasn’t disappointed that I had this instead.  I’d definitely order this one again.

My sister ended up getting a personal pizza with sausage and pepperoni.  She didn’t share any with me (*ahem) so I can’t tell you if it tasted good or not.  But, she finished it all, so I’m going to assume that it was tasty.

Of course, not trip back to our hometown would be complete without a dinner at Asian Court in Ellicott City, MD.

Had a lovely dinner here with a very good friend.  We ordered the Spicy Wontons; Salt and Pepper Squid, Scallops, and Shrimp; and some Sauteed Snow Pea Tips.  We also ordered the Beef Chow Fun (not pictured).  There’s just something about the Salt and Pepper Squid, Scallops, and Shrimp at this place that just makes me crazy.  It’s so friggin’ good!  I could just eat that with the some rice and be happy.

Have I mentioned how crazy Koreans are?  Cause they’re seriously crazy.  I mean, why else would they open their stores ON CHRISTMAS DAY.

We went to go visit my grandmother, and my dad wanted to stop and get some snacks for her.  I was convinced that nothing would be open, but my dad assured me that if it’s a Korean shop that it’ll be open.  Sure enough, Bon Appetit in Ellicott City, MD was open on Christmas Day.  And extremely busy to boot.

I picked up a funky looking Manju shaped like a pig and also this adorable sweet potato cake with some chickies to take to my Hubby’s family gathering later in the evening.  The sweet potato cake was actually not what I expected.  I’ve had sweet potato cake from Mozart Bakery (another Korean bakery), and it was just slightly sweet.  This one actually had pureed sweet potato.  Pretty tasty, if I do say so.

And that was my very short trip back home.  I’ll try to catch up on my other postings in the new year.

 

Leave a Reply

