Brother’s Engagment Ceremony Trip

A few weeks ago the Hubby and I took a trip up to Chicago for my brother’s engagement ceremony.  His fiancee is Vietnamese and comes from a very traditional family.  So, our whole immediate family went to Chicago to participate in the ceremony.

My parents still had to work on Friday, so my sister, hubby, and I landed in Chicago first.  After we landed, my brother and his fiancee took us to Pequod Pizza for some authentic Chicago Deep Dish.

I have to say, pretty tasty.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t enjoy it to the full extent because I had just gotten braces on that week.  (Yes, I’m a tad old for braces, but my dentist recommended them and they’re only on for 6 months, so I said “what the hell.”)  Anyways, so I had to cut my pizza up into small bite size pieces.  I ordered a small deep dish of all three of the hot peppers on their menu–ooooo, spicy!  It was eye-wateringly good.  The wimps at the table opted for a sausage and mushroom combination.

The next day, we went over to the fiancee’s house.  After the whole ceremony, which involved our family carrying gifts throughout the whole house and then placing them on an altar, we had a homemade lunch made by her family.

It was pretty awesome.  All traditional Vietnamese dishes, which I do not know the names of.  Her family used to own and run a restaurant, so I approve this engagement.  Especially if I get to eat more yummy food.

After lunch, my brother took us on a tour of Chicago.  It’s a very pretty city.  I can see why it’s kind of an architect’s mecca.  I wish we had had more time to explore the city more.  Especially the food!

We did find this great little bao (bun) place that was connected to our hotel.  It’s called Wow Bao.  We had a spicy thai bao, which was pretty yummy, but I have to say the coconut custard bao is by far my favorite!  I’ve never thought of bao as something that could be a sweet dessert, but this definitely worked.  The chocolate one I had later was also delicious.

After the tour of Chicago, and some obligatory shopping, we got ready for dinner with the fiancee’s family.  They took us to a vietnamese/chinese restaurant and ordered three whole peking ducks! I don’t know if these are better than the one’s we get from Mr. Wok, but they were still really good.

All that was left was a good night’s sleep and then breakfast in the morning.  We ended up just eating the buffet that was in our hotel.  Then we hopped the train to the airport and headed back to Dallas.

When we finally do go back to Chicago for the wedding next year, I’m definitely going to see about staying longer so we can explore the city a little more.  And eat that deep dish pizza without braces on!

One response to “Brother’s Engagment Ceremony Trip

  1. Yay!!! congrats to your brother. And thanks for posting the pics! I’m drooling…

Leave a Reply

