Happy anniversary!

My darling Hubby sent me a tiny edible arrangement to my office for our anniversary!  He’s so thoughtful.  And, he knows me so well.  Most women may prefer to get flowers (and flowers are good every once in a while), but give me something to eat and I’m a happy camper. 

This particular arrangement had chocolate covered strawberries, apples and bananas along with some grapes.  Never had the chocolate covered bananas before and they were really good!!

We went to Steve Field’s Steak and Lobster Lounge for our anniversary dinner.  We’ve never been before, and we were surprised to discover it was right next to the Whole Foods (which we’ve been to many, many times).  For a Tuesday night this place was pretty packed.  I guess cause they have live entertainment after 6:30 pm.

The atmosphere is pretty romantic with very dim mood lighting (unfortunate for my camera since it doesn’t do well in low light…)  We were seated in a booth and ordered the Lobster and Crab Dip for our starter.  OMG, this was pretty fantastic.  Creamy dip with lobster and crab, sweet onions and garlic crostini for dipping.  This was warm cheesy goodness at its best.

Then they brought out this amazing concoction of olive oil and serrano peppers that you dipped your warm salt and rosemary encrusted focaccia bread in.  The peppers gave it a really nice kick.  Our waitress confessed that she is addicted to the dipping oil, and rightly so.  I probably could have eaten just this for dinner and been happy.

For the main event, the Hubby got the Free-Range Australian Double Lamb Chops with buttery pistachio mustard sauce and opted for the healthier asparagus as a side.  These lamb chops were so well prepared that I probably would have eaten all of his dish.  Unfortunately, he only let me have two bites (scrooge…).

As for me, I got the Grilled Atlantic Salmon topped with lump crab, shrimp, and Bearnaise sauce over the less healthy roasted garlic Parmesan mashed potatoes and a side of sauteed veggies.  This was also really good, but I liked the lamb a lot more.  Damn!  This is what I get for trying to eat something “healthier” rather than go with my gut feeling.  Still, the salmon was quite tasty.  But, next time I’m ordering the lamb!!

2 responses to “Happy anniversary!

  1. …….slurp…. (that was the sound of me drooling over the pictures)

Leave a Reply

