On the way to H-Mart

Peanut Chip and Lemon

Peanut Chip and Lemon

I don’t want to give the impression that the Hubby and I eat out ALL the time.  We usually only eat out on the weekends and during the week I will cook and pack bentos for lunch.  Every weekend we make a trip to the grocery store to plan out our meals for the week.  Luckily, I was able to find out the secret word for the free cupcake at Sprinkles before we left and we made a pit stop at the cupcake shop to get our free cupcake (peanut chip!) and an extra one as a bonus.  If you “like” their facebook page they will reveal a secret word of the day and you can get a free cupcake in store.

I think the peanut chip is my new favorite.  It was a very moist cake with chocolate chips and with a peanut butter frosting on top covered with chocolate sprinkles.  It was like eating a reese’s peanut butter cup but in cupcake form.  Then we also bought a lemon cupcake (also good) because I feel guilty just getting a free one and not paying anything.

Afterwards, we walked across the street to the Corner Bakery and got lunch.

I got a Chicken Pomodori on Sourdough (All-natural roasted chicken, fresh basil and spinach, oven-roasted tomatoes, and provolone cheese with pesto mayo) and the Ultimate Chili (which was HUGE, word of caution) and the Hubby got an Uptown Club (A delicious combination of hickory smoked turkey breast, crisp applewood smoked bacon, sliced avocado, leaf lettuce, tomatoes, and mayonnaise).  My panini was so delicious!  I will have to get it again.  The Chili was also good, nice touch of cilantro and the tortilla strips.  Gave it a very southwestern kick, especially with the salsa and corn.  It was way bigger than I thought it would be, so I packed up the rest and took it for lunch the next day.

After lunch, we headed to H-Mart, the Korean grocery store in Carrollton, TX.  I love H-Mart, not just because I’m Korean and I like to support all things Korean.  The variety of produce you get here is second to none.  It’s clean and bright, and there are so many options.  And the place is friggin’ huge!  I’ve been to H-Marts in Maryland, and I haven’t seen any this big before.

They’ve also got a nice little food court area that has cheap food.  You can find a plethora of dumplings, along with Korean, Japanese and Chinese cuisine.  There’s sushi too, and it’s not half bad!  Now, if they would only serve a decent char siu bao (steam bbq pork bun)….

They’ve got a little bakery section in the store too where you can buy all sorts of really pretty Korean baked goods.  The selection can be a little limited, though, but you can always go across the parking lot to the Mozart Bakery (the one in the store is a Tous Les Jours).  I tend to like the stuff at Mozart better.

I LOVE H-Mart!

Leave a Reply

