Korean spa food

My neck has been killing me lately, so I took a trip to the King Spa & Sauna in Dallas.  It’s a Korean spa (which is VERY different from your American spas).  For one thing, you can’t be shy about being naked in front of strangers.  But, you’re only naked in the bath area, and it’s segregated by men and women.  The main area with the saunas are co-ed. 

If you have watched any Korean Dramas, you’ve seen these before.  They’re really nice.  There are different sauna rooms and they’re different temperatures and have different healing benefits.

Anyways, the Hubby and I went yesterday and had some lunch there in the food area and then did our day of sauna and bath.  Ahhhh!!!  So relaxing!  The heat helped with my neck a bit.

The food at the spa is decent.  They actually have a pretty extensive menu, which is really nice.  I’ve been to other Korean spas (one in Virginia and one in New York) and the food there is soooo much better.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ll still eat it here, it’s not terrible.  It’s just not the best thing I ever ate.

We started with some Gun Mandu, which is basically the Korean dumpling but fried.  Gun means “fried” in Korean.  It was okay.  I could tell that they had just gotten frozen ones and cooked them as opposed to making them in house.  Also, there was a strong taste of ginger and I really HATE ginger….  it makes me gag.

Then I ordered the Bibimbap, which is a Korean dish of rice with mixed veggies, maybe some meat and a fried egg on top.  You mix in some spicy pepper paste and it is most often served with miso soup.  The Bibimbap here is pretty good.  It’s hard to mess up Bibimbap.  Again, not the best Bibimbap I’ve ever had in my life, but worth ordering at this place.

The Hubby got the Oxtail Soup.  He liked it.  Not much to report on this.  I guess it’s worth ordering, but I didn’t try any of it so it’s hard to give a good review.  Though, he did have to put in quite a bit of salt, so it might have been a bit on the bland side.  We’ve had some pretty awesome Oxtail Soup up in New York, so I was kind of snobby about it.

In Korean culture, they give you side dishes (banchan) with your food, which is why you also see all these little dishes accompanying our meals in the pictures.

After we left the spa, we headed to the Stonebriar Mall in Frisco.  I wanted to get some frozen yogurt, but apparently the Orange Cup is gone!  Damn it!  So, we had to settle for trying out the new Chick-Fil-A Banana Pudding milkshake.  Man, that thing is really sweet. We got some sweet tea too since we were really thirsty, and after taking a sip of the milkshake we thought we had gotten regular tea by mistake.  The milkshake tastes like they pureed banana laffy taffy.  Which is not a bad thing.  It’s still pretty yummy.  Though, I have to say I think I prefer the Peach one they had last summer.

2 responses to “Korean spa food

  1. I really enjoy reading about the food and especially the pictures!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

